Unfinished Business

My eyes as brown as everyone’s
Hide not a soul that sings
A life serene that’s just begun
A journey bright to bring.

How deep inside I know too well
How tough a fight must be:
While playing safe in case I swell,
I laugh so loud in me.

If I must name a country girl,
Who comes to mind right now?
It’s Carrie Underwood the whirl
Who took the world somehow.

Her eyes as brown as everyone’s
Hide not a voice that sings:
“Inside Your Heaven not the gun,
But Blown Away on wings!”

At this point, Carrie Underwood is probably not a good role model anymore based on the way she names her songs and albums. However much I love her eyes as brown as mine, I have decided to go after a better example, whose eyes are green and not so perfect: Taylor Swift.

However, Carrie’s not my lips;
Instead, it’s Taylor Swift
Who knows her role of leadership
To serve her name a lift.

According to Wikipedia on “Taylor Swift”, “in a 2012 interview, Swift remarked that, although she tries to keep herself ‘as educated and informed as possible,’ she doesn’t ‘talk about politics because it might influence other people.'”

This is highly admirable and selfless because she’s doing all these for the American people and not for herself. I am not saying that she’s a genius, but she’s also been very careful with her career and public appearances, a wisdom seldom found in today’s celebrities.

I usually enjoy putting myself in others’ shoes to understand how they think. In this case, I have come to the conclusion that eye color doesn’t and shouldn’t matter. Besides, this is all too easy to change with contact lenses, which to change is like changing socks.

Okay, I am back to my male role, the real me. I haven’t forgotten my promise to add a new poetic interface yet.

About Run Song

Run Song (宋闰) is my pen name for the Moments of Poetry, a collection of poems about the greatest moments of life. If photography captures the greatest moments of life, poetry is the life behind them.
This entry was posted in The Internet Machine. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

