Gender Inequality

First of all, I am a guy, just to be clear upfront to avoid unwanted attention from stalkers. I don’t discriminate against homosexuals, either, but I do want to make it clear also that any thought of homosexuality makes me really sick. Trust me. People like me are common enough. It’s just that I like to be honest with people in general. I’d rather be politically incorrect than hypocritically condescending. I hope you appreciate my honesty.

Now, let’s get straight to the point. Japan is pushing for new policies to encourage female participation in the labor market, skilled and unskilled alike. It is true that the representation of top female executives in Japan is still way too low, but without a high participation rate across the entire spectrum, it is difficult to expect many female workers in senior management. It takes time to climb the corporate ladder, so it may still take 20-30 years to see significant changes. I actually read about this from a news article (http://qz.com/167840/more-japanese-women-are-working-but-for-the-economy-to-thrive-they-need-to-be-running-things/), where the statistics at the bottom show a deeper problem in Japan. The average education level of Japanese women is too low, in contrast to that in most Western countries. It definitely means that gender inequality is a more serious problem in the West, as these nations are without an excuse to explain their lower labor participation rates with women compared to their education level. However, in Japan, gender inequality could have started at a younger age, which would deeply affect their education level. I grew up in Taiwan, a Chinese culture under the Japanese rule for 50 years. Girls do not receive the same pressure as boys to excel in their careers, not to mention a high education level for a good start. Some men may be jealous of women, but they are far too degenerate and not too representative of the general culture in Asia. In fact, I love tough women better. They know what they want. I don’t have the time to do the guesswork to figure what people want most of the time. I am glad that Canada is probably doing the best in the world, because that’s where I currently live.

It’s a cultural thing. Even in the U.S., women didn’t have their right to vote until 1920. It is definitely a recent change. Gender equality is fairly easy to measure with statistics. Everything measurable qualifies to be science and calls for international competition. Is Japan going to be the global leader in gender equality given their recent awareness to take a further step at national policies? It’s hard to tell. While it is a relatively quiet thing in the West today, I am hoping that the recent move of Japan raises global awareness. It helps with the international perception of Asia in general as well. Why not? As I told you, I am very blunt. I don’t hide my intent.

By the way, there is no Japanese blood in my family, traceable probably up to five generations. I don’t have and never had a Japanese girlfriend. Trust me. I definitely don’t want one anyway. You can think however you want. I am just saying this to prove that I am fair and not partial. Simple enough?

About Run Song

Run Song (宋闰) is my pen name for the Moments of Poetry, a collection of poems about the greatest moments of life. If photography captures the greatest moments of life, poetry is the life behind them.
This entry was posted in The Internet Machine. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

