Time Flies

I just sold my apartment building, which would pay off my debt from my mega condo right in downtown, a miscalculation at best, which I probably would hold for some time before selling it for a good profit so I could further invest to build my own software company. Everything moved more slowly than I had thought. In any case, I am just here to write a simple post for August so I at least have one per month.

Translation is interesting. How would you say “Mammalian” in Chinese? “Bu-ru-ren” instead of “Bu-ru-lei”? Nah, I would take a more classic Chinese term for a novel as classic as mine. I would say “Shou-ren” instead. Indeed, the classic Chinese term “beast” does sound better in this context. So, a Mammalian is a beast man while an Avian is a bird man. The funny thing is, whatever sounds better in English tends to sound very poor in Chinese and vice versa. That’s why we have to adjust the nomenclature from time to time. Note that the term “man” in Chinese is neutral, because you always have to specify its gender if you do intend to make it gender-specific, such as a “male man” or a “female man”. Put another way, we don’t really have a word for “man”. Instead, we always use the term “male person”. Chinese is a language that favors reduction in the number of its vocabularies by relying heavily on particles, a signature of most ancient human languages. This is not a big problem unless you are a perfectionist terminologist. For now, we focus on the story of Yang Shu, an Avian, with Xia Ying and her community.

That’s about it for August.

About Run Song

Run Song (宋闰) is my pen name for the Moments of Poetry, a collection of poems about the greatest moments of life. If photography captures the greatest moments of life, poetry is the life behind them.
This entry was posted in The Internet Machine. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

